ALRF 25 for 25th ~ King Greogry

The twenty-fifth season of the Alabama Renaissance Faire is just weeks away. To celebrate the Silver Anniversary I’m counting down till festival weekend with a post a day reflecting back on the history of the faire.

Photo #10 ❖ 15 days till opening gate.

pirate King
From 2008 ❖ King Gregory
The Alabama Faire has a rotating monarchy. Each year shortly before the faire, Gode Cookery prepares a fund raiser feast. The local commuinty attends the feast. Whoever gets the coin in their cake will be the monarch for next year’s faire. The new dubbed Monarch is involed in planning a theme for the next year’s faire.
On the last day of faire the current Ruler yields the throne to the next ruler.
I have asked the former Monarchy that I could locate a few questions. Here is King Greogry’s response.

Character name King Gregory
Year of Reign 2008
Theme Pirates

As to how it felt being King, I felt completely natural. I have always been the Kingly type. But as I walked through the crowd the day of the fair with all the women and children singing, throwing flowers and adoring their King , let me just say, I felt right at home. To bring hope to the hopeless, to see a smile on a peasant with no reason to smile made me fill wonderful.
Some of the things I did while I was King—I sang with the singers, danced with the dancers and bonded with the mercenaries even to the point of firing their canon. One thing I’m exceptionally proud of is when I took the unfair taxes off the shoulders of the dancing girls. Now some will say the King made other arrangement of payment with the dancing girls, to this I will neither say nay or yah. But I will say that any man that would not is unfit to be King.Another thing, When I caught the sherif, that crooked sherif stealing from the people’s taxes, I had him put in the stocks where if any justice remains, he is still there. I had my trusted Man of Arms Insane Dave the Gray, My Lovely Queen, and all the People of the Realm that so adore me.
Oh yes, to make up the taxes I lifted from the Dancing girls, I felt it my duty to raise the population 15%. This was back breaking work as you may know. So that in due time the tax revenue will rise to a normal level.

The Alabama Renaissance faire runs Oct 22-23 in Florence, Al. official AL Ren Faire site
Renaissance Faire Pictorial Alabama Renaissance faire section.

~ by Chris on October 7, 2011.

What say ye?

 
